Senate President Election


Tasmanian Senator Stephen Parry has today been unanimously re-elected President of the Senate.


"I am honoured that my peers in the Senate have entrusted me to continue in the role of presiding over our nation’s upper house," Senator Parry said.


"I look forward to working with all Senators across the Chamber in the interests of a stable and constructive Parliament."


As well as presiding over the Senate and administering Parliamentary departments, the role also involves hosting dignitaries and official delegations, so Tasmania will be significantly advanced when meeting international leaders.


Senator Parry congratulated his fellow Tasmanians, Senator David Bushby, who has retained the position of Chief Government Whip, Senator Eric Abetz who brings 22 years of experience to the Australian Parliament and Senator Jonathon Duniam who has joined the 45th Parliament.


First elected to the Senate in 2004, Stephen Parry became Deputy Government Whip in 2006 and later promoted to Chief Government Whip in the Senate.  When the Liberals lost the 2007 election, Senator Parry was elected unopposed as Chief Opposition Whip and was appointed Manager of Opposition Business.


Senator Parry was elected Deputy President in July 2011 and first elected President in 2014.


He is the 24th President of the Senate and is the fourth Tasmanian to hold the office after Senator John Hayes (1938-1941), Senator Justin O’Byrne (1974-1975) and Senator Paul Calvert (2002-2007).


More information on the role can be found by following the link


President of the Senate

All News